Towards Healthy Life

One little thing at the time

What’s the hard part?

Since I have started counting calories and working out, it’s been pretty easy on me. So far I haven’t been hungry because all I do is making better food choice. I always ended up the day under my calorie goal. Also I almost always drink my 8 glass of water and I have worked out every day so far. I feel very proud of myself but…

I’ve noticed that something changed today. After I’ve finished the boxing exercise on the Wii, it told me that I have burned 73 calories. It sounds alright except that normally it says 75 calories. I am now aware that the less we weight the fewer calories we burn for the same exercise. It means that I am losing weight YES! BUT it means that I will eventually have to increase the amount of exercise I do every day…that’s not so funny now hey?

All this just made me realise that I am in the easy part right now and it’s only going to get harder and harder. I thought somehow that starting the whole process of changing my bad habits for healthier ones was the hard part! Does eating healthy food and exercising everyday sounds like the hard part to you? It does to me but looks like there is more to come. The worst thing for me will be to keep at it for more than a year. Let’s say that I am better at starting a project than finishing it!

Well that enough fear and negative thoughts for today. What’s on the bright side? I am 12 pounds less! Another 10 and I should start to see a difference in my clothes, I can’t wait for it to happen, and it’s going to be a big victory for me! I can do it! I just have to look forward to the positive things it will bring along.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “What’s the hard part?

  1. It does get harder, but it get easier also. As you get in better and better shape working out longer will not be a problem. At least that is my experience. Thanks for your post. I am on a weight loss journey too. Keep it up!

  2. tofubelly on said:

    Sounds to me like you are making fantastic progress!

    True, the less you weigh the harder it is to lose weight, but isn’t that the worst of your problems? When I find myself getting down about how much harder it is for me to lose weight than it was before when I was 20 lbs heavier, I think on it for a second and then laugh at myself. Be proud — you’re losing weight! It will start to take more effort, but it’s only because you’re getting skinnier, accomplishing your goal, and isn’t that wonderful?

    Congratulations on making the tough transition to a healthy lifestyle! Stick with it — you’re worth it!

  3. The hard parts are 1) when you are doing everything right but you still hit a few week plateau – can be a real test, especially since a plateau could mean you need to just hang in there OR you need to up your game 2) situations where you need to go outside your weight loss routine to attend events/work crisis/etc and find out how much you have really change and 3) maintenance phase – the ultimate hard part.

    Good luck with the journey!

  4. Thanks for adding me to the ‘Blogroll’! Also, make sure to adjust your weight on the Wii so that it’ll give you a better idea of the calories burned 😉

    By the way, there isn’t really a ‘finish’ to your project; healthy living is a maintainable lifestyle change, and a great one at that! You will continue to crave living a great lifestyle as you FEEL better and better (looks are secondary, but it’s a rad bonus!)

    Eyes. Prize. You know the drill…

  5. I agree, starting a project is always easier than finishing. You can do it!!! I believe!

Leave a Reply

