Towards Healthy Life

One little thing at the time

Tempting temptation

It was Husband’s work Christmas party for children this afternoon. We got there early at the start and nothing was ready but it’s ok because I like to help. I got two tables ready for gingerbread man decorating. There was Smarties, jujubes, jellybeans. I had to transfer the 4 coloured icing into little Ziploc bags for easy squeezing out for kids. Got plates ready and of course a lot of paper towels.

I was doing fine, I had a proper meal before we left and I am not a big fan of candy anyway. There was pizzas, trays of sandwiches, raw vegetables, cakes and…BROWNIES! I was ok at first, I was not very hungry and was too busy helping my daughter to decorate her gingerbread.

Every now and then I was going to the food table to have a look and grab some sugar snap to nibble on. I played a lot with all the children! It was so much fun, the party was in recreation center so we had heaps of balls, hula hoops, tunnels etc. to play with. I must have burned a few calories then.

After a few hours I  guess I was getting hungry without realising it so I went again around the food and just grabbed a brownie and ate it without even thinking. Oh my! I did not plan for this but it’s too late now. I resisted as long as I could. I will definitely have to work on the whole resistance thing. It’s easy when I just stay at home but I just found out that as soon as I get out of here I am vulnerable to anything. Oh well…I better get off the couch and do some Wii boxing.LOL

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Tempting temptation

  1. Body Polish on said:

    I’m totally the opposite! I’m fine in public but in the confines of my own home I’m horrible. Since no one likes what I like and I can’t tell a bunch of men they can’t have snacks there is huge temptation in my house.

    • I guess we have everybody has different weakness. I keep heaps of stuff that I cannot eat at home( for the rest of my family) and somehow I am in control of myself because I also have healthy options.

  2. Good for you for not beating yourself up about the brownie, and especially for not saying “oh well” and grabbing a bunch more junk food. In the long run, one brownie won’t hurt, and an extra match or two of boxing can help burn it off. 🙂
    A trick I do (and people make fun of me, but I get over it), is to bring things I can eat and not feel bad about. A veggie tray if it’s a potluck, or my own apple or popcorn or baked chips… cuz I like to eat in situations like that, but I don’t like to feel guilty about it.
    That being said, we had our bowling potluck last night – and I didn’t even try to avoid the white chocolate, pretzel and m&m mixture. I love that stuff. But I balanced it out with a lot of broccoli and carrots. lol

  3. fun post! its ok to have a cheat once in a while. its better that you’re aware than not!

  4. When I have a cheat I try to remember all the good things I did that day that counteract the cheat. Otherwise it’s a downward spiral and I just want to keep cheating, and cheating and cheating. I know it’s so hard being out and about. If I could stay at work all day long I would be a stick by now. But way to go for only having one brownie the entire night!

Leave a Reply

