Towards Healthy Life

One little thing at the time

The closer it gets the further it is…

I was hoping to reach my first goal today and I didn’t. I am disappointed because  I actually reached it on Tuesday. For some reason Wednesday and today I took some of it back. Some are going to say that I shouldn’t weight myself everyday for that exact same reason but that sort of up and down doesn’t worry me usually. I was just really happy to reach my first mini-goal and I blame the water, or not enough of it.

It seems that the closest you get to a goal, the longest it takes to get there. It reminds me when I used to live in the city to go to school and on a long summer week-end I would take the road  back home. It was a 7 hours drive and the first 5 1/2 was alright until I got in the valley and opened my windows to smell the river. There was only 1 1/2 hours left to drive but it just seemed to take forever to me.

So I will just find the patience that is buried inside me and hope for next week. I already ordered my fitbit and it is not here yet so maybe it is destiny that I reach the goal the day that the reward gets here loll. If it gets here before I promise I won’t take it off the box.loll

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “The closer it gets the further it is…

  1. Hi – I weigh myself every day. I know people say you shouldn’t, but I find it keeps me honest. Like, my weight went up after I had a bad day earlier this week, and when I weighed in, I knew why. So it helps me see the connection between weight and what I eat more easily.

    Don’t worry about your goal. If you do the work, it will come. Just make sure you get your REWARD! 🙂 And blog about it when you do, to inspire the rest of us!

  2. I love your idea of rewards – what a great motivator. I was pretty crushed when I started to gain in the middle of my tracking, but it was valuable feedback. Your resolve is just being tested – you will prevail.

    • Thanks! Yeah I am just looking forward to reach my first litle goal and to the reward too loll. Yeah the positive with weighing everyday is that we can correct ourselves right away if we need too.

  3. Since the people who maintain weight loss afterwards tend to weight themselves every day, I’m happy to be in the habit now. Just need to be able to cope with it. Hope you hit the goal soon!

  4. I used to weigh myself everyday as well. You really have to be okay with the fluctuation however. Especially as a woman. We tend to retain water which as you know, adds pounds. You probably already do this, but one thing I learned was to weigh myself at the same time every day. I think it’s beneficial to weigh yourself often while losing weight because it keeps you motivated. Just don’t be too hard on yourself if you gain. If you’re burning more calories than your taking in, you will lose weight in the long run. I have a feeling that by the time you get your fitbit you will have reached your goal. Stay positive!

    • I don’t care that much of a little gain usually but the other day I was so eager to reach that goal. Now I am more relaxed about it and I will get there when I’ll get there. I didn’t know that woman were more likely to retain water than man. Good to know, I’ll have something to blame now loll

  5. I think that the important thing is that you REACHED your goal Julie…so it was a few days early and a few days later you fluctuated up a bit. YOU STILL REACHED IT! I’m so proud of you 🙂

  6. I’m one of those who doesn’t believe in weighing every day, but that’s because personally I would find the ups really disheartening. If it works for you then totally go for it! You’re doing absolutely great – especially to be at or around your 20lb goal in such a short time 🙂 well done, you! And I think the idea of rewards is brilliant… might have to steal that one!

Leave a Reply

