Towards Healthy Life

One little thing at the time

Ice cream and rules

This week I wasn’t feeling too well for a few days and I let it push me out of track. I didn’t log my food for a few days and didn’t go shopping for food either. When I wasn’t feeling too good I finished the macarons and other cookies that were in the freezer(there wasn’t many left at least). We went at the grocery store (the 3 of us) on Sunday and my daughter chose a box of frozen strawberry yogurt on a stick with chocolate coating. My husband chose a carton of breyers banana cream pie and I wanted to by a mini cup of the real cream cappuccino flavour and there was none left…so I bought a big carton of it.

 

When we got home I took a measuring cup and served myself 1/2 cup of the ice cream and ate it (from the measuring cup). Big disappointment! It was nothing like the mini cups I usually buy, it is the same brand and same flavour, so is it a conspiration from the company who makes the delicious mini cup to make you buy the big mediocre tub!

That night (obviously I wasn’t satisfied) I don’t know why but I took a spoon and open the freezer to try husband’s ice cream. OH MY! It is sooooo yummy so I ate my half cup directly from his ice cream carton in front of the freezer. Ok out of control? Looks like it but it was like that for the whole week. Worst than that, I really didn’t exercise much.

I could blame all that on losing my Fitbit because it has kind of destabilised me a bit but I am pretty sure that it is due to a lack of sleep. I can’t seem to be able to put myself to bed or I should say turn this bloody laptop off when I am in bed. It is getting later and later. Reading blogs and other stuff online but yesterday it was an old strategy game that I found while cleaning the computer armoire. I don’t see the time going when I play that because when I realised it was 4ham….I was so mad at myself.

Sorry for the big splash of negativity but writing it is helping me  see the cause and the solution to my problems.  I have to get myself back on track. I need to focus on these 4 rules until we live for Australia.

1- Going to bed and turn the laptop off at a reasonable time : midnight

2-Do a work out everyday

3-Track my food

4- Only have 1 treat a day

It is the first time I have too give myself rules or day goal since I have started so I will tell you how I did with those tomorrow.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Ice cream and rules

  1. It’s very easy right now to just give up and think, “oh well, I’ve messed up already, so why bother trying..” so I congratulate you! You’re absolutely right to set up a few rules and goals for yourself so that you don’t undo everything that you have accomplished so far. Fight through this. You can do it!!
    Sleep is a huge factor in losing weight. And exercising helps you sleep better at night! So yes, make sure you keep doing those… Until you get your fitbit back, you should try to log your exercising and food intake a different way. Make yourself accountable so that you’re less likely to shrug off that carton of ice cream you ate in front of the fridge. lol I did something similar to that while I was losing weight – I downed almost an entire box of oreos in one sitting… feeling guilty, but hungry, and at the time not caring… but the next day I went right back to dieting, and I wrote down how many calories in cookies I had eaten…omg… I never did that again! 🙂

    • Thanks shadow, I usually use myfitnesspal and fitbit because I compare the 2 but I just let it go for a few days I guess so that I could give up into those craving…twisted mind of mine lol. Been better today…so far 🙂 I just have to have one good day and I will be back on track.

  2. Oh, I can’t tell you how many times recently I have gone a little off the deep end in terms of indulging! You are so right in that sleep plays a huge part in your cravings and indulgences. Get enough of it and you’re less likely to skip meals, feel hungry and indulge. Having a good accountability partner is also key…one that you can check in with and vice versa. If you find that your “rules” are overwhelming you start small at first until you have developed a habit. For example…get to bed by 10:30pm every night for five nights and eat a well-balanced breakfast they minute you get up in the morning. Add a little more every few days…drink at least 8 glasses of water, do something to get your body moving even if it’s a walk around your neighborhood once a day. Once you’ve given yourself time to establish some habits it’s a lot easier to stay on track.
    You can do it!

  3. I am pretty good with the healthy breakfast thing but it’s the sleep part that is going to be the hardest! Hopefully it won’t take me too long to fall asleep 🙂 Thanks for the support

Leave a Reply

