Towards Healthy Life

One little thing at the time

Weighing In: By ShadowRun300

The Scale.

You either love it or hate it.

You’re addicted to it, or you never want to see it again.

You’ll find many opinions out there about whether you should weigh yourself once a day, once a week, once a month, never.

But I feel that it’s a personal choice you should make – after ‘weighing’ all the facts of course.

I, myself, don’t have all the facts, but I can share with you what I did, and why it worked for me.

While I was on my diet, I weighed myself daily.  I had read that you should weigh yourself at the same time every day to avoid seeing the fluctuations of water weight, etc, so I chose to weigh myself first thing in the morning.  (After pottying of course).  Then I would go for my walk/run and continue on with my day.

The numbers never really upset me.  I just used them to keep me in check, and I kept track of my weight in my food journal.  I used the scale to see if what I was doing was working.

Luckily for me, it was working.  That’s probably why the numbers didn’t upset me.  Sometimes I would see a slight gain – especially on Mondays before I finally made the decision to not overindulge on the weekend, but most times I either stayed even or lost a pound.

When I reached my goal weight and switched over to maintaining instead,   I continued to weigh myself everyday. This was actually a scary time for me.  Because I was very involved with running and toning exercises, I needed to increase my calorie intake in order to keep from losing more.

But after months of being in the mind frame that I needed to eat less, eating more was a problem.  I did NOT want to gain the weight back.  This is the point where I became somewhat addicted to my scale.  I would eat 2000 calories, or so, then worry that I had gained weight.  So I would step on the scale to see.

Every morning I would weigh myself to make sure I wasn’t gaining.  And every morning I would see basically the same number, but until the number showed up on the scale, I would be worried.  It took almost 3 years of seeing the same number, before I finally felt secure that I wasn’t going to gain the weight back.  That is when I began to trust myself that I was eating healthy, exercising, and I didn’t need a scale to show me that.

I made up my mind not to weigh myself daily.

It was difficult for sure.  But once I was out of the habit, the relief I felt was tremendous!  I no  longer had this number ‘weighing’ on me.  I knew that if I stayed within my 2000 calories, and exercised regularly, I would not gain it back.  I trusted my new healthy lifestyle.

These days, 13 years after beginning my journey, I weigh myself maybe once a month.  Most times it’s less often than that.  I feel like I’m at my happy weight, because even after a splurge here and there of barbecue pork, or the maple butter blondie at Applebees, I tend not to gain weight.  (Keep in mind, I don’t do that very often….).

So although I can relate to those of you who feel like you need the scale, I can also tell you that it becomes an addiction quickly, and can be a major source of stress.  Based on what I experienced, I think it’s best to just weigh yourself once a week while dieting, and in between times, trust that you are eating and exercising appropriately for the amount of weight you want to lose.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Weighing In: By ShadowRun300

  1. julesdownunder on said:

    Nicely written!

  2. I restrict myself to once a week – so far it has worked out very well.

  3. I can see how the “maintaining” phase must be so scary in the beginning… I am ALREADY terrified of that… thinking… ok… I’ll lose all my extra weight and… then what? I know I will continue to exercise … I know I will continue to eat healthy but… I feel like I’ll be scared of gaining it all back, like you mentioned! I guess just like I am TRAINING right now… I will have to TRAIN MY MIND then to not worry and just trust that what I am doing works… that not “over indulging” works! and that if I continue to work out and be wise with the things I eat I will NOT GAIN! I feel, like you’ve said before, this is a fight for the rest of my life though… I don’t think anybody should “live in fear” but at the same time we can’t “let our guards down” … right? I don’t even know if I am making “any sense” Good pos!

    • When I stopped stepping on the scale, I stopped living in fear. But it took sooo long!
      I think I could write another post on switching to maintenance, then maybe those of you who are just starting to lose, or are getting close to maintaining the loss, will be spared all the mental issues I went through.

      • I agree with thinlady,I usually get on the scale everyday in the morning and it kind of keeps me motivated and help me to stay “aware”. I think I will keep doing it until I feel that my brain and body are well trained and naturally makes healthy choice. It all makes sens that you stopped weighing after being on maintenance for a few years but could it be what prevented you from gaining the weight back? I mean helping at keeping your mind focused on the right choices by reminding you that you were at risk of gaining back…Great post Shadow by the way! 🙂

      • Yeah – I do think it’s what helped me not gain the weight back. It just took so long for me to finally trust that I was eating and exercising correctly, so I wasn’t going to gain. I had changed my lifestyle and eating habits and I didn’t want to be “weighed” down by a number anymore. So it was a relief to let that part go.
        But while losing, I think it’s totally ok to weigh yourself everyday. You just have to mentally be ready for the fluctuations of everyday weighing, and look at the numbers overtime to see how you’re doing.
        Welcome back! 🙂

      • Exactly, thanks shadow

      • I guess regardless of reading we all still go through “mental issues” don’t you think? But I think it will still be VERY BENEFICIAL to see someone who went through the very same fears, conquered them and succeeded!!! even when in the beginning your brain worked “just like the rest of us” 😛

      • Actually, yes, you probably will, because I did! lol But it definitely helps to know someone who has been there, done that, so you know you’re not the only one! 🙂

      • Definitely! That is for sure! I know how much it’s helping me to know you’ve STAYED thin after 13 yrs. of losing your weight!!!

Leave a Reply

