Towards Healthy Life

One little thing at the time

Half way through the kilos!

Today it looks like I am half way through the kilos or pounds that I have planned on losing.

I started November 25 to look at a healthier way of life and all the sudden I was counting calories and losing weight. It is definitely the longest and most consistent weight loss period I have had in my life.

When I was 17 I had a mononucleosis and I lost heaps of weight all the sudden because I couldn’t keep anything in for like a month. It probably changed my body forever because it had to go through that starvation period. Back then I liked the fact that I was skinnier and always tried to become even thinner. What I didn’t know then is that I wasn’t fat but I just needed toning. After in my life I have tried many times to lose weight on an impulse or with some kind of weird diet who had to many restrictions like no bread, no fruit after a meal, no protein at the same time as starch etc.

All those diets had one thing in common : it just took care of the food part of my life in a way that  could never be maintained for life. What I am trying to do now is re-teach myself to make healthy choice and use moderation ( I struggle with this one), exercise, sleep better and try to be positive. I also try to find little things that makes me happy like painting just for fun. I am not so talented and if I happen to start to like what I am making, I also start stressing because I don’t want to mess it up. Sick hey? Well I stress about a lot of stuff and I have to learn that imperfection can also be good. Learning to manage or cut stress is also one of my long-term goal.

It’s all connected together somehow and I am reaching for a kind of healthy balance between my body, my mind and my soul. I have just to make sure I enjoy the ride as well because it’s going to be a never-ending one.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Half way through the kilos!

  1. I’m so glad you are not using a fad diet anymore to lose weight. Maintaining those is nearly impossible. Finding the right balance of calorie intake without feeling deprived is the key to a healthy lifestyle. Since moderation seems to be the most difficult part of this lifestyle change for you, maybe this tip will help: If you are having something you really love, but may be high in calories, measure out the amount you can allow yourself to have. Then sit down, with no tv, no book, no phone calls, etc., and taste every bite of it. Be conscious about every bite that goes into your mouth. Concentrate on the taste, chew slowly, make it last, and truly enjoy the food. You will find that a small amount of something you enjoy can be just as satisfying if you focus on the food while you are eating it. Hopefully this helps. 🙂
    Good luck on the next 17kg! If you can lose it once, you can lose it again! 🙂

  2. Congrats! This is fantastic…the beginning is always the hardest part.

  3. First of all CONGRATULATIONS! I am going to sound like the Wii does “You’re half-way there keep it up” LOL! … You are doing awesome!!! So happy for you! and second of all… I can SOOO RELATE to everything you’ve said… this is also the first time I am losing weight with “health in mind” like FOR REAL… I’ve done so many weird (and damaging) things to my body in my attempts to lose weight FAST that I actually changed the way it acts! I am re-teaching it to deal with calories, etc… I am LEARNING soo much through this experience! It is great to have you as a “weight-loss buddy” 😉 LOL! You are not alone on this!

Leave a Reply

