Towards Healthy Life

One little thing at the time

Home made yogurt result

DSCF6892yesterday I have tried my Mom’s old yogurt recipe in a new way and I am really pleased with the result.

What I like about this recipe is the fact that I can find all my ingredients at the grocery shop and I don’t need to order culture packets online.

The way I normally do the recipe is just mixing the ingredients and put it in the yogurt maker. The yogurt always taste good to me because I am used to it but my daughter always wants me to turn it into a vanilla yogurt so I put a little sugar and maybe 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. As soon as I start stirring it, it turns very thin, kind of like a smoothie. 

The way I did it yesterday is mixing the milk, the carnation milk and warming it to 185 F. I don’t know why but it took like 30 minutes before it got to there. I started like the yogurt sites suggested, with 2 pots with waterDSCF6894 in between. It was too slow for me so I tried the steamer pot, then too slow again so I ended up with the milk pot directly on the stove and it still took forever. I am not a very patient person so when I finally reached the degree that I wanted I didn’t keep it there for 30 minutes like one of the sites suggested (it is supposed to give the yogurt a very thick consistency). The fact that it took so long to get there probably took care of the consistency anyway.

After I put the milk pot in a cold water sink and let the milk cool down to 110 F.

Then I put the yogurt into my big glass measuring cup(easier to poor in the little jar) and stirred it. I added the warm milk to the yogurt a little a the time and stirred it slowly. I poured it into the jars then put the timer for 11 hours but after only 8 it was ready and very thick. I put the lids on the jars and stored it in the fridge for the night.

DSCF6896This morning I tried it and I was so happy because it was a firm yogurt. Even after the sugar and the vanilla it is still very think and probably will get thicker with maturity. I think one of the yogurt sites said it could stay good for 2 weeks but here it will only last about 2 days at the max. The taste was about the same as usual just a tiny bit different.  I founded it to be a little sweeter than usual. I will keep doing it this way from now on because I love thick yogurt.

Some people use powder milk in their recipe to have a thicker texture but I think it’s why the carnation milk is a part of my recipe. Still, I want to try without it just to experiment.

I have 7 jars and 1 jar is 110 calories for those who are counting, it would of course change according to the brand of yogurt and milk that you would use.

Bon appétit!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Home made yogurt result

  1. Yay! Pictures! 🙂 It looks yummy! Do you chop fruit in it as well, or are you satisfied with it plain?

    • I like it plain but often I put it on top of a bowl of strawberries if I have some. I haven’t tried to put fruit inside the jar to make a fruit yogurt. I think it would have to be cooked maybe like home made jam or pie filling but I have been thinking of trying it so it’s just a matter of time and research. 🙂

Leave a Reply

