Towards Healthy Life

One little thing at the time

Quick Pretzels

DSCF6956

This is what I did yesterday. I have been wanting to give it a try for a while and I needed buns to make burgers for lunch. I found a recipe on utube and I followed it but of course I had to adapt it a little. There was so much unnecessary sugar in the recipe. It would be alright if I wanted sweet pretzels but I wanted salty pretzels. I also didn’t need the extra calories from the sugar. I  substituted the normal yeast for quick rise yeast because like I said on my blog before, I am not a very patient person.

My quick pretzels were absolutely delicious, very moist inside and had the real pretzel taste and crunch on top. The burger buns were good too and really thin which is good for calorie budget but since I am a bread lover I like mother’s day ones better.

This morning the left over pretzels have the exact same texture than a bagel. Very dense flesh that needs to be toasted or warmed up really good otherwise it may feel a little stiff.  It was so much fun to make and my daughter had a bit of trouble rolling the dough but got the pretzel knot the first time…It took me 2 times loll. Now that I know how to make them I will do it again when my daughter’s friend come here for the day this week. They will have lots of fun and will probably invent some new pretzel knots!

Quick pretzels recipe

DSCF6956

1- In a mixer bowl or in a big bowl mix :

  • 4 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 4 1/2 tsp. of quick rise yeast

2- In another bowl mix:

  • 1 1/4 cup of warm water
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tbsp. vegetable oil

3- Pour the water mix into the flour mix

4- If you have a mixer use the bread hook and let it mix slowly for about 5 minutes or until it forms a ball. You may need to add a little water to the mix like I did(about 1 tbsp.) if you see that it is too dry.

If you are doing it in a normal bowl, do a hole in the middle of the flour mix and pour the water mix in it. Start mixing with a fork and when it becomes too hard, use you hand, if it’s too dry add a little water to it. When it is firm enough put the dough on a floured surface and knead it for about 5 minutes.

5- Clean and dry your bowl and oil it. Oil the dough ball as well, put it in the bowl and cover it with clear wrap(saran wrap). Let sit for about 10 minute or when you can see that the dough is bigger(mine doubled pretty quick).

To help the dough rise you can create the perfect environment. Boil some water in a pot and put the pot in the oven, turn you oven on at 350 F. for 30 second then turn it off. Now just put your dough bowl in you oven and close the door letting it sit for maximum 10 minutes.

6- In the meantime in another bowl mix:

  • 1/2 cup of baking soda
  • 1 cup of boiling water

7- Mix very well and add:

  • 3 cups of cold water

8- Reserve for later

9- Get the dough out of the oven and warm your oven at 400 F.

10- Cut pieces of dough and roll it like when you do play-dough snakes with your kids

You will have to figure the pretzel knot out by yourself because I didn’t take a picture loll

11- Once you have done enough pretzels for one tray you can dip them into the baking soda water mix, one after another. Let it drip over the bowl and put them on an oiled tray.

12- While they are still wet sprinkle them with kosher salt or any kind of flaky salt.

I didn’t have any so I used Himalayan pink salt and crushed it in a tiny ramequin with the handle of my pastry roller. You could use coarse sea salt too. It needs to be bigger than normal salt so you get that nice crunch when you eat your pretzels.

13- After you just put them in your hot oven for 5 to 10 minutes. It depends on how big you made them and also on your oven. Watch them and when you get that nice golden brown take them out and put them on cookie tray.

My pretzels were a little bit stock to the tray but I got them out with a metal spatula and it was fine. You could use baking sheets if you have some.

14- Eat them right away or brush them with butter first, I didn’t and they were still amazing.

15- Enjoy!

It gave me about 20 pretzels which was about 95 calories each

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Quick Pretzels

  1. Wow! These look amazing!

  2. These look great- I’m looking forward to trying them out!

  3. You’re like me. I LOVE bread. Many people say to avoid carbs when you’re dieting, but I think it’s an important part of a healthy diet, and if I had to give them up, I wouldn’t have dieted. 95 calories seems well worth it for those! They look awesome!

Leave a Reply

