Towards Healthy Life

One little thing at the time

Halloween party

I spent the weekend food shopping, relaxing and cheating. Ok. What exactly is my kind of cheating? Total junk food on Friday lunch, Eating stir-fry on sticky rice, cupcake (had 21/2 through the weekend), eating crumbed fish fingers that me and daughter made and baked in the oven, having some m&m’s and chocolate chips. I had heaps of fruit and vegetables. Apart from Friday there was no fast food or fatty food so it isn’t too bad, the real cheating was me not logging anything that I ate.

 

So this morning despite the fact that I had to go through the whole house to find batteries for the balance board, I weighed and was at 73.9 kilos/162.6 pounds which is pretty good considering the weekend. I did my work out this morning and it felt good. It always does on Monday because I am all rested from the weekend.

It’s definitely winter over here, early but there is nothing we can do about that except for moving loll. We bough our first snow blower yesterday and hopefully it will last for a long time.

My Halloween party was very successful! I made some kind of purple monster goo(water thickened with tapioca and corn starch. I put it in a big plastic container and through plastic bugs, skeletons etc. The kids had lots of fun with it, I gave them bowls, measuring cups etc. What a mess they made!!! I will surely keep that kind of fun for occasions only loll. They painted a mini pumpkin each as well. We had a dance party with costumes in the afternoon after nap time, a decorate your own cupcake activity with cotton candy, chocolate , sprinkles etc. I baked home made gold fish crackers shaped as children’s fingers. While I was pouring the vampire blood cocktail(V-8), I made them count all their fingers to make sure that wasn’t theirs on the platter. I finally found those fake candles the other day so we were able to make  Halloween lanterns(papier maché),put a candle in it and have a lantern walk. Day care is in the basement so it wasn’t hard to get some darkness when closing the curtains so we could appreciate the spookiness of the lanterns. They also had treats but had to bring them home because they had plenty of sugar already. They were all very happy and so was I.

After that I was so tired! Next comes my daughter’s birthday and then Christmas, I should start planning so I am not at the last minute again!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Halloween party

  1. I am so happy you got to enjoy and still had good numbers on the scale… I mean… at least you didn’t see a “spike” … 🙂 You’re doing great! Keep it up!

  2. The Halloween party sounds like it was a success! You are so creative! I’m sorry it’s winter time for you already! We’ve been in the mid 50’s. Not too bad, I suppose, but colder than I would like.
    This is such a hard time of year to be dieting. And then you throw in your daughter’s birthday on top of it! Good for you for keeping up with your exercising. If you didn’t, it could be much worse! 🙂

Leave a Reply

