Towards Healthy Life

One little thing at the time

What to say…

image

It was my turn to pick the “family Christmas present” this year or last year since it’s now 2013. I bought a tread-mill. The (bad) news was taken the hard way from hubby…I guess I didn’t do things right buying it… and then telling him. I am not proud of that part at all and it was very wrong I admitted it. I think he thought I got some of nice looking cabinet to put in the living room and was disappointed on top of being angry at me for the bad choice.image

image

Last year he really wanted to get the whole ice fishing gear. The tent, heater, lamp, fishing rods, hole maker. I wasn’t thrilled at all but at least he asked for my opinion first and I said yes but the next would be my pick. Fishing is not my thing at all, in fact I just hate having to hope and wait forever and there is never anything at the end of the line. I said yes to the ice fishing gear but only to please him.

Guess what? I have learned to like it. I still don’t care much about the fishing part of it because my kind of fishing would be with a net in an aquarium but I like the open space and the view, being outside, not having to watch my child beside the water, being able to have  a walk on the lake, being with my family and finally catching some fish and eat it, something that never happened to us in summer in Alberta.

So when hubby started to act as if I were crazy for picking such a bad present I reminded him that I thought that  fishing gear for a present sucked last year 2011 but that I have learned to like it and that maybe he would learn to like the tread-mill, after all he would need it just as much as me.

I got it for myself because I need something new to continue my journey but I also got it for him in hope that he would exercise a little before it’s too late. He is obese and apart from the steps he takes at work there is no exercise. He has cholesterol and drinks those stevia yogurt but don’t watch his diet very much.

Something I cannot do for him is to make him change his way but I was dreaming about him having a walk while watching TV. His health is at risk and he doesn’t do much about it but he doesn’t seem to realise that we need him and that he has responsibility to be alive for me but especially for our daughter.

I would like my daughter to have her daddy for a long time(he his such a great daddy to her) and for me to have my partner for a long time as well. It’s why I want it in the living room because this is where we are.

I don’t like to be confined to a room for exercise, it has never worked for me. I need it there  to continue and to reach my goal. Hubby says it doesn’t make any sense, that it will take the whole place, it will look silly etc. I don’t care about the look of our living room as much as I care for our health. A nice cabinet would have looked nice but wouldn’t do much for a healthy life and look nice myself.

I am running out of argument. I don’t see what the big deal is, it’s not like he is using the living room floor for anything. When he is in the living room, he is on the couch watching TV, his phone or iPad.

If I could lift the thing by myself I would do it anyway and I am sure he would see that it’s not so bad after all…but I need him to help…so frustrating! I love him deeply but sometimes we see things so differently…so frustrating!

So is it about where to put the tread-mill or it’s about getting hubby on a healthier life? I just thought it could be easier to get US on a healthier track if this tool would be right here, where we hang out, easy access, ready to use at anytime.

If you have any good point that I didn’t use feel free to write it down for me!

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “What to say…

  1. Not sure I can help you win your argument, but I will say that I agree with you. If it’s in the living room, you will be more likely to use it. You did great reminding him that you didn’t like the fishing gear at first. I guess if all else fails, you can just ask him to please be supportive of your wish to get healthy, and remind him that you’re trying to set a good example for your daughter as well.
    I wish you the best of luck! Let us know how it goes!

  2. Oh, that is a hard one – and I can relate both because of my relationship, and that of my parents. What I have observed and found is that you can encourage someone else and provide support, but the minute they feel pressured it can cause arguments. The difficult bit will be getting the treadmill into that room to set the good example – those things are so heavy, it’s true, even without a sore back! I wish you all the best.

  3. I try to push my hubby in to my healthy lifestyle all the time sometimes he does good and others he eats half a cake for breakfast like last year. I can totally see where you are coming from though. I guess over the last year I’ve learned to ask him to do something with me but not to push it. I make veggies for dinner, but I don’t force them on him. Slowly he has started to eat more greens and go for more walks with me.

    This won’t really help your argument, just my 2 cents. lol! hope you get things figured out.

  4. Aw! I am so sorry 😦 … I am sure he’ll soon see the benefit! I guess men like to feel they were the ones that had “the great idea” or that made “the final decision” and maybe he is just reluctant to “accept this” because of his lack of involvement… but I am sure he’ll be fine soon… especially if you don’t keep bringing up his health because he might be feeling more like he’s being told what to do … just say you need him and you thought it would be a good idea but if he wants you can see if you can get rid of it… if he doesn’t like it… I am sure he’ll feel bad if you have such an attitude like that (LOL!) and then he’ll say you can keep it and it will be “his decision” he’ll feel grand and mighty and every time he sees the treadmill he won’t see it as a fight he lost but as something good he did for you! … SNORT! … I am just sayin’ ! … But of course I don’t know him… and you know him better… I hope anything you decide works for you 🙂 and for him 🙂

Leave a Reply

